Archive for the ‘THROWBACK’ Category


In June of 1997, Wu-Tang Clan kicked the summer off at the top of the Hip-Hop class. Whereas 1993’s Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) just missed the Top 40 (to eventually reach platinum), its follow-up Wu-Tang Forever would debut at #1. A double album, the Loud/RCA Records release of the nine-man collective would eventually achieve four platinum plaques—despite its conviction to unconventional rhyming and production. Also by ’97, Clansmen such as Method Man and Ol’ Dirty Bastard had cemented solo stardom with hits of their own.

On the other hand, RZA, who was supplying lots of production to his swordsmen at that time, had not yet released a solo LP (though he branched into work with Prince Paul and Gravediggaz). Masta Killa, who was held to just a single verse on the ’93 jump-off, was still getting his name up, thanks to key features on LPs by Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, and GZA. U-God, who played a greater role in the debut LP, was also waiting for chance to let the “golden arms” shine.

So in 1997, part of the Clan and DJ Allah Mathematics hit Tim Westwood’s London, England studio to promote Wu-Tang Forever. Even as A-list artists, the Clan wanted to freestyle just like they had before the deal. RZA joined Mathematics behind the turntables for a set that lasted nearly one hour (52 minutes)—in freestyle, free-form radio that Westwood has just digitized. Some of these verses are straight off of the Wu double LP, and other projects. Other verses are clearly completely off the dome. Between the rhyming-intensive radio takeover, there are some jokes, antics, and even U-God’s hotel room stated for all the interested parties. For a group often called “raw,” this nearly 20 year-old relic shows how unchanged by success the Wu really was.

Wu-Tang Clan fans, here’s an 11 minute freestyle from Method Man, U-God & Masta Killa (Video)

For the first 20 minutes, the MCs play round-robin with the mic over some classic breakbeats. Even though he’s on the decks for part of it (and tries to play a cassette of some beats later on), RZA grabs the microphone and gets his rhymes in too. Heads will hear 1970s and 1980s park-jam records like ESG’s “U.F.O.,” Melvin Bliss’ “Synthetic Substitution,” Billy Squier’s “Big Beat,” and The Honeydrippers’ “Impeach The President.” Some of these records have been the sample basis for Wu favorites. Here, they are presented in loops. After this part of the set, the sounds move to Wu-Tang Forever instrumentals, and other gems from the solo releases.

O.D.B. Put The “Free” In Freestyle In This 1995 Outburst (Audio)

This is the second straight week that Westwood unveiled his Thursday throwbacks with Method Man material. As a reminder, if there is another album coming by the Clan, Ghostface Killah is said to be the one at the helm in terms of sound and direction.

RZA Freestyles Out Of The Blue During An Interview, Talks Battling Inspectah Deck (Video)

This 1997 footage begs the question: How many MCs with a #1 album about to drop want to rock for this long?


The homie DJ DADDY DOG got a brand new mega mix you need to check out check out!!!!!

Wali Alviar's photo.


who remembers this old school joint right here?

For  all my old school heads gotta check his out and download this one right here…see link below




Way back in 2002, Rhettmatic released the original Wedding Mixer mixtape. The title, as one would surmise, was comprised entirely of funky music you’d hear at weddings popping off in southern California.

The mix received such strong feedback that Rhett was inspired to create a sequel, which he released in physical form back in February 2014 (Valentine’s Day to be exact). You can actually cop that here.

Being that today is Rhett’s born day, he decided to upload the mix for the fans to stream. And best believe, there’s lots of classic cuts scattered throughout. Stream Disc 1 & 2 below, and check for the official tracklist below that.

The Wedding Mixer Volume 2 (Disc 1) – Tracklist
1. Intro
2. Moonchild – Rick James
3. All Night Long/Mary Jane – Mary Jane Girls/Rick James
4. Keep Risin To The Top – Kenni Burke
5. Outstanding – The Gap Band
6. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green
7. Sir Duke – Stevie Wonder
8. Help Is On The Way – The Whatnots
9. Before I Let Go – Maze feat. Frankie Beverly
10. Shining Star – Earth, Wind, & Fire
11. I Can’t Wait – Nu Shooz
12. Flashlight – Parlament Funkadelic
13. More Bounce To The Ounce – Zapp
14. Jungle Boogie – Kool & The Gang
15. Dazz – Brick
16. Rigamortis – Cameo
17. Last Night A Dj Saved My Life – Indeep
18. Watching You – Slave
19. Ladies Night – Kool & The Gang
20. Love Thing (Kon Remix) – First Choice
21. Walking On Sunshine – Central Line
22. I Got My Mind Made Up – Instant Funk
23. The Breaks – Kurtis Blow
24. Apache – Sugar Hill Gang
25. Good Times – Chic
26. Pumpin It Up – P-Funk Allstars
27. Knee Deep – Funkadelic
28. Doo Wa Ditty – Zapp
29. Rock With You (Refixx Version) – Michael Jackson
30. I Wanna Be Your Lover – Prince
31. Car Wash – Rolls Royce
32. The Glow Of Love – Change feat. Luthor Vandross
33. You & I – Rick James
34. I Just Want To Be – Cameo
35. Off The Wall – Michael Jackson
36. Wanna Be Startin Something – Michael Jackson

The Wedding Mixer Vol. 2 (Disc 2) Tracklist
1. Intro
2. Do You Really Want To Hurt Me – Culture Club
3. The Safety Dance – Men Without Hats
4. Rapture – Blonde
5. Need You Tonight – INXS
6. I’ll Tumble 4 Ya – Culture Club
7. West End Girls – Pep Shop Boys
8. Time – Culture Club
9. Everything She Wants – Wham
10. Holiday – Madonna
11. Lucky Star – Madonna
12. Don’t You Want Me – Human League
13. Keep Feeling (Facination) – Human League
14. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper
15. Bizarre Love Triangle – New Order
16. If You Leave – O.M.D.
17. I Wonder If I Take You Home – Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam
18. Summertime, Summertime – Nocera
19. Funky Little Beat – Connie
20. Take A Chance – Nuance feat. Vikki Love
21. Killer Groove – Formula V
22. Rockberry Jam – LA Dream Team
23. Egypt Egypt – Egyptian Lover
24. Supersonic – JJ Fad
25. Al-NaaFiysh (It’s Time) – Hashim
26. Push It – Salt & Pepa
27. When I Hear Music – Debbie Deb
28. It’s Automatic – Freestyle
29. Sweet Dreams – The Eurythmics
30. Cars – Gary Numan
31. Don’t Go – Yaz
32. You Spin Me Round – Dead Or Alive
33. Hungry Like A Wolf – Duran Duran
34. Blue Monday – New Order
35. Rock The Casbah – The Clash
36. Talking In Your Sleep – The Romantics
37. Freedom – Wham
38. Church Of The Poison Mind – Culture Club
39. Boys Don’t Cry – The Cure
40. Rock Lobster – The B-52’s

who remembers this classic right here…lol


Adidas, Run DMC and Keith Haring are bringing you a special gift this Holiday season. The “Christmas In Hollis” sneaker is a special edition of the popular Superstar 80′s model. Haring was brought on bored because his artwork was actually used for the original single of Run DMC’s “Christmas in Hollis”. The kick even comes without the laces, true to DMC. These classic’s are dropping right before Xmas, on December 21st. Will you be picking up a pair? I definitely will be. Hit the jump to see more photos of the kicks…

Classic ATCQ yo…

The Gods doing there thing!!!!